The Hong Kong International Film Festival presents five competition sections with the award winners decided by distinguished jury members consisting of renowned film industry professionals, film critics, directors and talent. The winners of the awards will be announced at the 36th HKIFF Awards Gala Ceremony

1. Young Cinema Competition
2. Documentary Competition
4. SIGNIS Award
5. Short Film Competition

Young Cinema Competition

The Young Cinema Competition is set up to encourage young filmmakers to explore the potentials of the cinema of our times.

Young Cinema Competition Jury
ARAKI Keiko is the Festival Director of Pia Film Festival (PFF) and has been involved with the festival since 1990. Since becoming PFF director in 1992, she has been introducing PFF Award-nominated films and PFF Scholarship productions to domestic audiences and abroad. Funded by a private company “Pia”, they search for new film talents to introduce them nationally and internationally. Since then, about 60 of the previous award nominees have become professional filmmakers, including Sono Sion, Hashiguchi Ryosuke, Ishii Yuya and others.
PARK Ki-yong started his film career after graduating from the Korean Academy of Film Arts (KAFA) in 1987. He has worked on various film projects as producer and director: To the Starry Island (93, prod), Cinema on the Road (95, prod), Motel Cactus (97, dir), Jang Sun-woo Variations (00, prod), Camel(s) (01, dir), Moving (11, dir). He represented KAFA from 2001 to 2009, then later initiated and developed the Busan Film Festival’s Asian Film Academy and co-founded the Cinema Digital Seoul Film Festival (CinDi).
YIM Ho graduated from the London International Film School and joined the Hong Kong Television Broadcasting Ltd. as scriptwriter and producer-director. He made his debut film The Extras in 1978. In 1984 Homecoming won him the Hong Kong Film Awards for Best Director. This was followed by Best Film and Best Director at Taiwan Golden Horse for Red Dust (90), Best Film and Best Director at Tokyo Film Festival for The Day the Sun Turned Cold (94), Best Director Silver Bear at Berlinale for The Sun Has Ears (96), among other accolades.

Nominees: All Apologies, Emperor Visits the Hell, A Fold in My Blanket, Forgetting to Know You, In Bloom, Longing for the Rain, Pluto, What They Don’t Talk About When They Talk About Love

Firebird AwardIn Bloom

by Nana Ekvtimishvili, Simon Gross
The jury was very impressed by how this simple coming-of-age story tells so much about the everyday violence and fear in Georgia during a time of turmoil. In stark contrast, all this is portrayed in a poetic style.

Jury PrizeAll Apologies

by Emily Tang
The jury was deeply moved by the sharp portrayal of the harshness of modern Chinese society, where love doesn't exist and a woman struggles to survive in it. It shows that women always suffer more when life is tough.

Special MentionLonging for the Rain

by Yang Lina
The jury would like to give a Special Mention to this film for the courage of its director and its actress in exploring sensitive issues such as sex and spirituality in contemporary China.